Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 8

You Are the Scorer: Number 8

by Joe Gray


Scenario: With runners on first and second and no outs, an infield fly is hit directly towards the third baseman but is not caught. The batter is called out on the infield fly rule and the runners stay put.

Which fielder should be credited with a put-out by the official scorer?

A – The catcher.
B – The first baseman.
C – The third baseman.
D – No put-out should be credited.


Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

 C – The third baseman.

Rule 10.09(c)(1) states:
When the batter is called out on an Infield Fly that is not caught, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder who the scorer believes could have made the catch.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.