Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 23

You Are the Scorer: Number 23

by Joe Gray


Scenario: With none out and runners on first and third, the batter hits a blooper over the shortstop’s head. The runner at third waits on the bag to see the play unfold but the runner from first takes up a position half-way between first base and second base. The shortstop dives and manages to make the catch, retiring the batter. At this point, the runner from third leaves the bag and heads home to score while the other runner sprints back towards first base. Unfortunately for the runner, the shortstop makes an excellent throw to complete a double-play at first.

As the official scorer, would you credit the batter with a run batted in?

A – Yes.
B – No.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

A – Yes.

Rule 10.4(b)(1) states:
[The official scorer shall not credit a run batted in] when the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse-force double play.

In the example above, though, the batter does not ground into a double play, and so there is no reason to withhold credit for the run batted in.

You may also like

1 comment

Joe Cooter April 10, 2009 - 1:39 pm

I have watched this game since I was a child, I didn’t know that on doubleplay that occurred could result in an RBi. I didn’t know that the rule was restricted to ground balls.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.