Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 27

You Are the Scorer: Number 27

by Joe Gray


Scenario: With a runner on second and one out, the batter hits a fly ball that is caught on the warning track in straight-away centre. The runner tags up and dashes towards third, where an aggressive base coach is eagerly windmilling to urge the player on to home. The relay is mechanically sound but not particularly quick, and amid a cloud of dust the umpire awards a run on what is a very close play.

Should the batter be charged with an at-bat?

A – Yes.
B – No.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

 B – No.

Rule 10.08(d)(1) states:
[Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that] is caught, and a runner scores after the catch.

In other words, there is nothing in the rules to say that the run has to score from third in a sacrifice fly. And, of course, a sacrifice fly does not constitute an at-bat.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.