Scenario: It is the bottom half of the last regulation inning of a tied game. Runners are on first and third and there are two outs. The manager brings in a pinch-runner to first with the instruction to steal second in order to draw a throw from the catcher that should allow the runner on third to come home with the winning run. The substitute follows the instructions on the first pitch of the at-bat but the catcher holds on to the ball. Frustrated by this, the pinch-runner (who is not an authority on baseball’s more obscure rules) decides to unsteal second on the next pitch to create another chance for the planned play. The umpire calls the runner out for running the bases in reverse.
As the official scorer, to whom do you award the put-out?
A – The catcher.
B – The first baseman.
C – The fielder covering second base.
Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:
Answer: C – The fielder covering second base.
Rule 10.09(c)(5) states:
When a runner is called out for running the bases in reverse order, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder covering the base the runner left in starting his reverse run.