Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 33

You Are the Scorer: Number 33

by Joe Gray


Scenario: It is the bottom half of the last regulation inning of a tied game. Runners are on first and third and there are two outs. The manager brings in a pinch-runner to first with the instruction to steal second in order to draw a throw from the catcher that should allow the runner on third to come home with the winning run. The substitute follows the instructions on the first pitch of the at-bat but the catcher holds on to the ball. Frustrated by this, the pinch-runner (who is not an authority on baseball’s more obscure rules) decides to unsteal second on the next pitch to create another chance for the planned play. The umpire calls the runner out for running the bases in reverse.

As the official scorer, to whom do you award the put-out?

A – The catcher.
B – The first baseman.
C – The fielder covering second base.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

C – The fielder covering second base.

Rule 10.09(c)(5) states:
When a runner is called out for running the bases in reverse order, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder covering the base the runner left in starting his reverse run.

You may also like


Ron June 19, 2009 - 12:48 pm


Good post, as always, and I apologize for being nitpicky.

I guess I have an issue with people using football/cricket/golf/whatever terms to describe baseball. My problem, no one else’s.

But there is no such thing as regulation innings. Every game is scheduled for 9 innings, but less can be played for a complete game, or more can be played, which is simply called ‘extra innings’. But there is no such thing as ‘regulation innings’. Regulation is a term used for timed sporting events.

Sorry to be that guy. I probably woudn’t say anything at all, but after listening to 5 different people call baseball ’rounders’ and a ‘girls game’ due to their ignorance, I felt I needed to say that.

Ron June 19, 2009 - 1:03 pm


Never mind, and my apologies. I decieded to check the rulebook to make sure I wasn’t being an ass, and I see the reference you’re using.

I think I was misinterpreting your meaning, but you are dead on.

I’ve been umpiring and scoring for years, and I’m learing new stuff all the time. I think my lesson for today is that irritation at other people for thier ignorance doesn’t allow me to accuse someone else of being wrong when they obviously know what they are doing.

I love what you guys are doing. Keep up the good work.

By the way, do you guys know when the intial list of candidates for the Hall of Fame will be announced? I can’t wait to see that.


Joe Gray June 19, 2009 - 1:47 pm

Hi Ron,

No worries.

I’m glad you’re excited about the Hall of Fame. We are too.

The inaugural class is due to be announced in the autumn. There should be some more related press in the build up.



Joe Gray June 19, 2009 - 1:51 pm

Hi again,

On a note related to your initial point about using terms from other sports, I’ve shared your frustration when submitting game reports to British newspapers. If I wrote the “winning run crossed the plate in the seventh inning“, it regularly got changed to the “winning run crossed the plate in the seventh innings“, thinking I had borrowed and then butchered a cricket term. Even when I sent in an accompanying note to editors on such matters, it still wasn’t guaranteed to not be “corrected”.


JJ June 23, 2009 - 2:02 pm

Yet another question I got right…



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.