Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 39

You Are the Scorer: Number 39

by Joe Gray


Scenario: With a runner on first an no outs, the batter hits a line drive to right field that just bounces in front of the fielder. The player on base had moved towards second but had not run hard in case the catch was made, forcing a return to first base. When the ball drops safe the runner dashes for second, but a bullet throw beats the player to the bag. Unfortunately for the fielding team, the shortstop muffs the throw, and both players are safe.

As the official scorer you charge the shortstop with an error (and award the right fielder an assist), but do you credit the batter with a hit?

A – Yes.
B – No.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

B – No.

Rule 10.05(b)(1) states:
[The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a] runner is forced out by a batted ball, or would have been forced out except for a fielding error.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.