Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 41

You Are the Scorer: Number 41

by Joe Gray


Scenario: With two outs and no runners on base, the batter hits a grounder between the first baseman and second baseman. The first baseman moves across and gloves the ball cleanly, and has plenty of time to throw to first, but the pitcher neglects to cover the bag and the runner is thus able to reach safely.

As the official scorer, do you charge the pitcher with an error for allowing the batter-runner to reach first?

A – Yes.
B – No.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

B – No.

Rule 10.12(a)(1) Comment states:
The official scorer shall not charge an error if the pitcher fails to cover first base on a play, thereby allowing a batter-runner to reach first base safely.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.