You Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries by Joe Gray December 11, 2009 written by Joe Gray December 11, 2009 The weekly You Are the Scorer post will be used as a thread for scoring queries for the rest of the year, so please leave a reply below if you have a question or comment. To hunt through the first 50 You Are the Scorer questions, click here. Keeping score 4 comments 0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail Joe Gray Joe is the founder of Project COBB. previous post Book Review: The Universal Baseball Association by Robert Coover next post Archive established for the origins of British team names You may also like You Are the Scorer: Another query with a... October 12, 2010 You Are the Scorer: Reader query (with a... April 6, 2010 You Are the Scorer: A forum for baseball... January 1, 2010 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries December 25, 2009 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries December 18, 2009 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries December 4, 2009 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries November 27, 2009 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries November 20, 2009 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries November 13, 2009 You Are the Scorer: Thread for queries November 6, 2009 4 comments Steve December 11, 2009 - 12:31 pm Hope this one hasn’t been done before, or isn’t too obvious… There’s a runner on first who teases a potential steal of second, before returning to saefty at first base. The pitcher then turns and throws to the first baseman, but the throw is wild and the baseman misses it completely. The runner then trots to second. Is that just a plain-old stolen base? Cheers, Steve Reply Joe Gray December 11, 2009 - 12:40 pm In a way I think you could argue that the runner deserves credit for a stolen base as he/she clearly earned it with the preparatory work. However, with this type of thing the rulebook is concerned with the most immediate trigger for any action – in this case, the wild throw. So the advancement from first to second would go down in the book as occurring on an errant throw by the pitcher (even though it did result after some good base-running). For those of you using the International Baseball Federation system, this would be an extra-base error (i.e. one marked with a lower-case “e”) as there was no real chance to put out the base-runner. What’s also interesting with this is what would happen if the first baseman managed to retrieve the ball in time to put out the runner before he/she got to second… While, instinctively, one might think to put down a caught stealing, this would not be fair on the runner since he/she – as we established above – would not have actually been eligible for a stolen base if there had not been a put-out. SO it would just go down as a “3-4” or “3-6”. Note the lack of an assist for the pitcher, whose only involvement in the play was a mis-throw. Thanks for the question. Joe Reply Ron December 16, 2009 - 5:49 pm I was taught to score it dependent on which direction the runner is moving. If he’s going towards 2B, it’s a steal, regardless of the throw. It he’s going back towards 1B, then it’s an error and no SB attempt. If he’s standing still, then it’s your discretion, as you have to choose whether it was a pick-off attempt, or an attempt to throw out a runner trying to steal. Reply Steve December 17, 2009 - 12:00 pm Thanks guys – that’s really helpful and interesting. As a real newcomer to scoring I’m sure I’ll be back! Reply Leave a Comment Cancel Reply Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Δ This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.