Home Keeping scoreGreat Britain Baseball Scorers AssociationYou Are the Scorer You Are the Scorer: Number 47

You Are the Scorer: Number 47

by Joe Gray


Scenario: With a runner on first the batter appears to have a hit a run-scoring triple, but the preceding runner is called out on a appeal play for failing to touch second base.

The batter obviously loses a run batted in, but, as the official scorer, to what do you downgrade the triple?

A – A double.
B – A single.
C – No hit (just an at-bat).

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

C – No hit (just an at-bat).

Rule 10.05(b)(2) states:
[The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a] batter apparently hits safely and a runner who is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner fails to touch the first base to which such runner is advancing and is called out on appeal. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit.

You may also like

1 comment

Joe Cooter September 26, 2009 - 3:01 pm

That happened in a game earlier this year when the Mets Ryan Church failed to touch third in a game against the Dodgers. The mets went on to lose the game by one run.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.